clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

For its 80th birthday, here are 80 photos of the Golden Gate Bridge

New, 1 comment

Admirers can’t quit the world’s most photogenic span

If would be hard to think of San Francisco as being San Francisco without the Golden Gate Bridge. In his book Cool Gray City of Love, local writer Gary Kamiya calls the bridge cables “strings that seem to be playing the city behind them into existence.”

The spectacular span celebrates its 80th birthday on Saturday. Other than a collection of people’s favorite bridge memories on social media, neither the city nor the Golden Gate district have any particular festivities planned.

So iconic and beautiful is the 1.7-mile long link to the North Bay that one would think there’s no point in taking its photo anymore, already being one of the most photographed edifices in the world. But locals and tourists alike can’t stay away. In fact, it’s the number-one spot in San Francisco on Instagram.

For its big celebration, here are 80 of the most captivating captures of our opulent octogenarian extension. Not even from its entire life, but just from the last 24 hours.

A post shared by Roberto Hernandez (@thalimonito) on

A post shared by Eve Mutso (@evemutso) on

A post shared by Eoin Kenny (@thekennylist) on

A post shared by Maria Andrea (@mariaandreapr) on

A post shared by Helena Faraola (@helenafaraola) on

A post shared by Naod (@imnaod) on

A post shared by AC (@ajc813722) on

A post shared by Sojournal (@almanlangit) on

A post shared by Malisa (@malisablackwhite) on

A post shared by Fanny Trang (@fannytrang) on

A post shared by jeremyv10 (@jeremyv10) on

A post shared by Mark Jordan (@mjandme_2000) on

A post shared by Hilary Noll (@hilarynoll) on

A post shared by Matt Wright (@wrightyred) on

A post shared by Traci (@tangotraci) on

A post shared by mel (@gourmetfrau) on

A post shared by Chris (@stateofmind7) on

A post shared by HypeThisWay (@hypethisway) on

A post shared by Kristina (@krisi.tinaa) on

A post shared by Lou Fillingham (@louieloulaaaa) on

A post shared by CityLife Fitness (@citylifefit) on

A post shared by Vinky Makwana (@vinkymakwana) on

A post shared by Twisted700 (@twisted700) on

A post shared by Mike Walder (@flywaldair) on

A post shared by Sarah Ebner (@s.e.e.design) on

A post shared by Jeremy (@jeremy.todd) on

A post shared by Brandon (@urbanhipsterdah) on

A post shared by Chris Choukalas (@chris_i_pedia) on

Just about right ! #goldengatebridge #fog #birds #pink #blue

A post shared by Discovering Amazings. (@ruoqu.wang) on

A post shared by Globe Digger (@globedigger) on

A post shared by Ryan (@scholastic_vibrations) on

A post shared by Amanda Miron (@miron.amanda) on

A post shared by emilykmathews (@emilykmathews) on

A post shared by It's Me, Teresa (@helloteresah) on

A post shared by Charles (@chuckwagon.sf) on

A post shared by David M. Lary (@larydm) on

A post shared by Deep Patel (@dmpatel94) on

A post shared by Michael Finelli (@mjfinelli) on

A post shared by Lei (@leidyinaliel) on

A post shared by Georgia (@gkmori) on

A post shared by Ollie Gray (@olliegray_) on

A post shared by nickmelrose (@n_melrose) on

A post shared by Deanna Wardin (@graphicward) on

A post shared by Viajes Amaia (@viajes_amaia) on

A post shared by @themexican_sf on

A post shared by @_crycrybaby_ on

A post shared by Oryx Co. (@oryxcowatches) on

A post shared by Chris B. (@barlowdigital) on

#goldengatebridge #bridge #sf

A post shared by frosabyrlakowa (@frosabyrlakowa) on

A post shared by Wanderer (@anikethana) on

A post shared by Airposted (@airpostedus) on

A post shared by Andy Kuzko (@kuzko_andy) on

A post shared by KarryOn Travel (@karryontravel) on

A post shared by eric (@dreamynomad) on

A post shared by Cecilia Wåger (@badassbandana) on

A post shared by Tjasa Owen (@tjasaowen) on

A post shared by @fcts_brittany23 on

Gigante. #SanFrancisco #GoldenGateBridge

A post shared by rozzty_pv (@rozzty_pv) on

A post shared by Uscgevo (@uscgevo) on

Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA