clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lineup Announced for Last-Ever Treasure Island Music Festival on Treasure Island

Ice Cube, Sigur Rós, and James Blake, just to name a few

Today the Treasure Island Music Festival revealed this year’s lineup. Ice Cube, Sigur Rós, and James Blake are just a few of the aural stars attached to 2016. It’s also the last year the annual two-day party will be held on its titular island.

Though unconfirmed yet as to why exactly, the music festival will have to relocate in 2017. Quite possibly the move has something to do with the massive, decades-long project underway on the island. The multi-billion dollar development project, poised to turn the man-made island into primo real estate, calls for the demolition of several existing buildings, as well as the start of much-needed infrastructure work.

Constructed for the 1939 Golden Gate Exposition, Treasure Island (officially part of San Francisco’s District Six) has always been an afterthought for some, even though it is home to many residents and several tony parties. Per Ed Lee’s suggestion, the island would also make a great home to the hypothetical George Lucas museum.

As for the 2016 music festival, here’s the line up:

  • Sigur Rós
  • Ice Cube feat. MC Ren + DJ Yella
  • James Blake
  • Purity Ring
  • ZHU
  • Glass Animals
  • Tycho
  • Duke Dumont
  • Mac DeMarco
  • Young Thug
  • Flight Facilities
  • Sylvan Esso
  • Christine And The Queens
  • Stormzy
  • Neon Indian
  • Wild Nothing
  • Mura Masa
  • Deafheaven
  • Kelela
  • How To Dress Well
  • Hinds
  • Car Seat Headrest
  • Kamaiyah
  • Day Wave