clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

One Year Later, Facebook HQ is Still Ready for Its Close-Up

New, 4 comments

The social media mammoth sets the bar impossibly, beautifully high

It's been over a year since Facebook opened their Frank Gehry-designed headquarters, and their employees are still enjoying their new workspace as evidenced by their fawning Instagram pics.

On March 30, 2015, Facebook opened its new campus' doors for business. The 430,000-square-foot megaplex has the largest open floor plan in the world. Per Frank Gehry, "From the start, Mark [Zuckerberg] wanted a space that was unassuming, matter-of-fact and cost effective...This is the building that we created for him."

As unassuming as it is from the outside (the structure, although fantastic to behold, does blend in well with its surroundings), it is full of color, life, and noted works by local artists. Who wouldn't want to pose next to choice installations and paintings, which Facebook employees get to see on a daily basis.

Warning: These shots will induce excessive amounts of envy.

C is for #globalcauses2016 #facebooklife #c #modernart #popart

A photo posted by Connie (@conniec) on

Finally found the rainbow flowers I've been obsessing about

A photo posted by @barbieejess on

Lunching and advising... #artworld #Pacegallery #art #technology #curating #collection #siliconvalley #valleygirl

A photo posted by TARKA RUSSELL (@tarkarussell) on

They even have a Yellow Brick Road, replete with Wicked Witch of the East legs bearing the ruby slippers.

Yellow Brick Road

A photo posted by Alec Strickland (@alecstrickland) on

Up top, there's the fabulous rooftop, a living rooftop, with sweeping views of both gorgeous flora and Silicon Valley.

Hey @stephencurry30 what's good. Feel better. #views #menlopark #california #rooftop #lunchtime #viewsfromthe6

A photo posted by Moises (@moisezzzzinho) on

Morning snack on campus

A photo posted by ddelcore (@ddelcore) on

Of particular note are the colors. This is the kind of stimulation that any worker bee would love. (We especially love the green hues on this staircase.)

Feelin green

A photo posted by Danny White (@dannywhite) on

A photo posted by @sssofie on

A photo posted by @sssofie on

Hackers gonna hack

A photo posted by Eric Falcao (@efalcao) on

And it just gets better and better...

What would you do if you weren't afraid? #globalcauses2016

A photo posted by Ali K (@alikanoa) on

#FacebookHQ

A photo posted by Juan Carlos Pedreira (@juancpedreira) on

They brought #starwars to my work this week. #worklife

A photo posted by Kevin Seay (@kev_says) on

#colors #fbnoobreport

A photo posted by fernandogrimaldo (@fernzgrimaldo) on

#colors #stairs

A photo posted by fernandogrimaldo (@fernzgrimaldo) on

One of the many cool cafes on the Facebook campus #shotoniphone6s

A photo posted by Omid Scheybani (@omidscheybani) on

//Opening Day: Building 23 / The FB Campus Keeps Growing//

A photo posted by jinerous (@jinerous) on

Happening now! Come check us out at the Facebook Farmers Market!

A photo posted by LEMO Foundation (@lemofam) on

Rough life on the rooftop #tgif #facebookhq #building20 #officespace #dontmakemeleave

A photo posted by Jessica Stroder (@jessicastroder) on

UO-WALL

A photo posted by Bruno Couto (@brunocouto) on

Facebook Office

1730 Minor Avenue, Seattle, WA