clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

30 scenes of urban innovation at the Market Street Prototyping Festival 2016

The idea is to promote promote walking, biking, public transit, and public engagement.

While lollygagging up Market Street, stop and take a peek at the cool doohickeys and rad new structures along the way. The third annual Market Street Prototyping Festival is underway, happening on Market from the Embarcadero to Van Ness. And you should check it out posthaste.

Teams of people ranging from students and architects are selected by the San Francisco Planning Department and the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts to display their ideas for making our urban areas more engaging, more enthralling.

While most of the prototypes are temporary, some of them could become permanent fixtures along San Francisco’s busiest artery. The Market Street Prototyping Festival notes that it’s part of a larger effort to reshape and reimagine Market Street.

To wit: "Since 2011, multiple City agencies have focused their attention toward improving and enhancing Market Street’s public space through the Better Market Street project , a five-year, multi-agency effort led by San Francisco Public Works to re-establish, improve, and enhance San Francisco’s civic backbone."

And with that, here are 30 scenes of the Prototyping Festival, which ends Saturday.

#sfist #urbanstreetphotography #streetsofsf#marketstreetprototypingfestival #mspf

A photo posted by Darwin Bell (@darwinbell) on

TGIF OOTD y'all #mspf #ootd #tgif #sfstyle

A photo posted by Simone (@spricesf) on

Rock rock in the embarcadero! #mspf

A video posted by MarketStreetPF (@marketstreetpf) on

throwing papers on the paper route game on our first day of #theplaystationsf #mspf #bicycle #urbanplay

A photo posted by brokelab (@brokelab) on

LED fun

A video posted by Brock Keeling (@brockkeeling) on

27 Steps is live! Come hear my music on Market Street through Saturday. #take27steps #mspf

A photo posted by Grant Ryan (@grantryanmusic) on

Feelin' happy on Market Street! #mspf

A video posted by MarketStreetPF (@marketstreetpf) on

Vote with your feet #mspf #sanfrancisco http://vwyf.1x1.cm

A photo posted by davednb (@davednb) on

Hello stranger #Glimmer #AdamMarcus #MSPF #sanfrancisco #sanfran #california

A video posted by iOfleO (@discotecadeliador) on

Market Street Prototyping festival - Peepshow with @princesscgn #sanfrancisco #mspfpeepshow #mspf

A photo posted by davednb (@davednb) on

#sonoGROTTO tilt up #KuthRanieri #teameffort #mspf @marketstreetpf video by Eliza

A video posted by Kuth Ranieri Architects (@kuth_ranieri) on

#knottysidewalk #mspf #cmgsite #knotsonknotsonknots

A photo posted by Alexandra (@xandrazahn) on

Muni multiplied #mspfpeepshow #dbalab #davidbakerarchitects #mspf

A photo posted by Will Bloomer (@wbloomer) on

Come #take27steps at the #MSPF event tomorrow through Saturday!

A photo posted by Anesta Iwan (@anesta_iwan) on

Eavesdrop - A Market Street Prototype. #mpsf #marketstreet #marketstreetprototypingfestival #sanfrancisco

A photo posted by David Koo (@koophotos) on

#MarketStreetPrototypingFestival #StreetArt #Art #SanFrancisco #MarketStreet #MSPF

A photo posted by Rise' (@reese_cup83) on