clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Federal Courthouse Now a National Historic Landmark

New, 2 comments

Federal Courthouse at 7th and Mission Streets recently listed as a National Historic Landmark

The James R. Browning United States Courthouse at Seventh and Mission streets has recently been deemed a National Historic Landmark, joining it's neighboring Civic Center Historic District on the list of "places that possess exceptional value and quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States." Designed in 1905, the courthouse of the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals was listed for its significance as a Beaux Arts public building. The site was damaged during the 1906 Earthquake and Fire, but served as an emergency shelter until it was repaired and reopened in 1910. Originally home to the 9th circuit court, federal trial court for Northern California, regional headquarters of the U.S. Postal Service, and several other federal agencies, it was recently the site of big name trials like the Napster (ruled illegal), California's Prop 209 ban on state affirmative action for minorities and women (upheld), and the Prop 8 ban on same-sex marriage (overturned but now on appeal to the Supreme Court). The courthouse was one of five California sites to be listed as a NHL last week, including the Cesar Chavez National Monument in the San Joaquin Valley, Drakes Bay Historic Archaeological District in Marin County, Knight's Ferry Bridge in Stanislaus County, and the U.S. Post Office and Courthouse in Los Angeles.
· SF's Federal Courthouse Declared National Historic Landmark [SF Appeal]
· Interior Designates 27 New National Landmarks [US Dept of Interior]
· San Francisco Civic Center [NPS]